Contact Us

Chart Agent
for email promotions and coupons
Category: Books >> Children >> Missee Lee: Book Ten
Missee Lee: Book Ten

Missee Lee: Book Ten


Missee Lee: Book Ten

In stock
Catalog # 0567921965

Missee Lee is the tenth book of Arthur Ransome's Swallows and Amazons series of children's books, published in 1941. This is considered one of the metafictional books of the series. It is set in 1930s China. The Swallows and Amazons are on a round the world trip with Captain Flint aboard the schooner Wild Cat. After the Wild Cat sinks, they escape in the Swallow and Amazon but are separated in a storm. Both dinghies eventually end up in the lair of the Three Island pirates where they are held prisoner by the unusual Missee Lee, the leader of the pirates. One aspect of this book which modern readers may find objectionable is that all the Chinese characters are depicted as speaking English with a very stereotypical accent and grammar.

No Related Products
Customer Reviews
    No Reviews